Declare

My dreams are burning themselves out of my mind,

My eyes are lit up lanterns in the dark, creating passages for my hopes to shine through.

I can barely hold these affirmations back, they burn my throat in protest

They melt my muzzled mouth, like wild horses escaping a whip

My ambition is an albatross that wont let me sleep

The voice in my head that repeats itself is now screaming its way out

My swollen heart outstretches my chest, threatening to rip through the hold of my rib cage

The proclamations come swimming out like they were more than words

My aspirations grow out of me, flowering the air

Yes – the sunshine in my living affirmations breathe day into night

My soul declares ‘I am’ – a nothingness that wills itself to somehow exist.

 

Leave a Reply

